Learning To Fly

…..but I’m not Sky

I know that eventually I will be “lifted up on Eagle’s wings” but in the meantime I can’t get the nursery rhyme “Ring Around The Rosie” out of my head because the ending is true. We all fall down, sometime.  Whether when we took our first steps with our parents cringing ready to scoop us up or on purpose holding hands in a circle on the playground. I didn’t go to kindergarten, so everything I learned before the first grade, I learned from my Mamacita. I’m still learning. Thank you, Mom for taking careful steps and for  taking your vitamins and drinking your Starbucks and the Capri’s ’cause you love them. Thank you for ALWAYS coming to my horse shows where I would crash over those jumps. As a sister, I could hardly stand the Motocross races with my Bubbas flying sideways over those huge berms. Now, as a Mom I don’t know how you did it. Alone and always there….Last summer was fun reading Christopher’s blog. Too bad I could not be there in Costa Rica to watch him dive off cliffs, surf 50 foot waves and run from the alligators that lurked outside his motel room. I missed the barroom brawl and a few hurricanes that raged while he was there. Thank goodness for the weather channel. Now that he is in Colorado, I can relax knowing that he is safe, except for the snowboarding, mountain biking and kayaking. We know, Mama it doesn’t get any easier for us no matter how old our babies are. I didn’t mean to get so heavy, I just wanted to say that after I took a dive yesterday and laid on the road inspecting my road rash, I couldn’t get that nursery rhyme out of my head. I’m GREAT, just a few bruises. I bumped my lip, though and I couldn’t wait to hobble home to look in the mirror and see if I looked like Angelina Jolie!!!  Not a chance…

 So, friends and family, I love you all and I for one only want to fall onto the couch or the bed, but even that can be a bummer!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

