Parting Is Such Sweet Sorrow

 

I promise I will bring plenty of cookies!!!!!

I promise I will bring plenty of cookies!!!!!

Any one who has pets knows how difficult it is to be away from them. I had a panic attack before we left the last time, imagining all sorts of afflictions that they would suffer, not to mention the possible trauma they would inflict upon their caretakers. The four dogs were in heaven at their grandmother’s house running in and out of the house and barking non stop for five days. The goats, sheep,tortoise, ducks, cats, horses and Miss Piggy were in great hands here at home with Tiffany our priceless vet tech house sitter. I think they just might be a tad bit spoiled, though, I don’t know how this happened, but I didn’t want to burden Tiff with their usual feeding schedule.  A typical morning starts off with either waffles,pancakes,bagels with cream cheese  or all three for Miss Piggy and the sheep and goats. The horses get their sweet feed and manage to drop a few crumbs on the ground for the ducks and Miss Piggy. The cats get fed every time I walk out the door and I always put a few handfuls out for  Miss Piggy. By then it’s time for peanut butter and jelly sandwiches that Miss Piggy shares with whoever wants them, followed by carrots for all the critters. So you can understand why I wouldn’t expect anyone to stick to this routine when I am gone and this is just the morning ritual, dinner time gets complicated. I realized how much they  missed me the first time we left for a week. I went out for a morning run our first day back and looked behind me to see all four goats/sheep jogging along behind me. A few paces back, Miss Piggy was doing her pot bellied best to keep up. I figured they would stop at the gate, but they stuck with me for over a mile. I decided to turn around and take them home. Later in the day, I planned to take just a quick trip into town, but my efforts were useless when a herd of ponies surrounded my  truck. Every way I turned they were there herding me back towards the feed room. Was I paranoid or was it  a conspiracy to keep them  from missing a meal.  I was a little leery  when we returned from our trip to Chicago in June. This was the longest time that we had left them in quite a while, what were they going to do this time? As I learned last time….they have ways to make us stay! I jumped into the truck and promised them that I was only going to the feed store, possibly the bakery and then I would be right back. Thinking they were convinced I started to drive away, Bridgett was smirking at me from beside the barn, the horses were grazing and trying to look nonchalant. What is up? I thought. I soon discovered why when I realized my left rear tire was flatter than the pancakes that Miss Piggy had for breakfast…..I didn’t need to see dental records to identify the perfect underbite marks that pierced the rubber…….

3 Comments

  1. Hey! I would love some of those cookies to share with Miss Piggy!!!!!

Leave a Reply

