A Mother’s Day Poem

This was given to me today, May 9, 2010, by my almost 18 year old son.

The Lily Pad: a stepping stone: a brief respite from treacherous waters.

The Closed Bud: beautiful but not yet fulfilled: a hint of what’s yet to come.

The Carnation: incredible beauty that is not kept but instead given: the will to share.

To me you are a lily pad, always there to comfort me, a piece of love amongst the world.

I am your bud, you nurture me and care for me so that I may bloom.

To all you are the carnation; sharing your motherly love.

Happy Mother’s Day

Love,

Peyton

14 Comments

  1. He is amazing! It is hard to believe that he is off to University of Ohio in three months…you have done a remarkable job with BOTH your boys…

  2. I would like to have a copy of that poem so I could read it & enjoy it day after day!!!

  3. I miss Peyton, but we are in Austin with Christopher and Annie. In just a few weeks Peyton will be home for the summer!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

